Print

Energy

The City of Edmundston is the only city in New Brunswick to produce its own electricity. The Energy Department was created in 1910 to answer a need to power a pumping station on the city’s water supply. The Department has been expanding ever since, and now has two hydro generating stations, including one downtown Edmundston, which is over 100 years old./p>

Services

Energy Edmundston now has a generating capacity of 8.5 Megawatts, to which the remaining energy needed to supply its clients is purchased from NB Power. For information regarding billing and rates (as well as to learn more about our payment options), you can contact the City of Edmundston’s Finance Department.

Under the responsability of NB Power, water heater rental is nonetheless billed by Energy Edmundston. This way, each client receives a single invoice for electricity, water heater rental and water and sewer utilities. According to this agreement between Edmundston Energy and NB Power, water heater maintenance is insured by NB Power contractors. For more information, please contact NB Power at : 1-800-663-6272

For more information on Energy efficiency, please contact our Environment Department or click on the following link: 

To report emergencies, customer service is available at all time (24/7) by contacting Edmundston Energy, at 739-2106.

For more information, visit the Useful Links page, and look up "Energy".

La Ville d’Edmundston est la seule ville au Nouveau-Brunswick à générer une partie de sa propre énergie. Le service d’énergie a été créé en 1910 pour répondre à un besoin énergétique d’une station de pompage sur le réseau d’aqueduc de notre municipalité. Il est en expansion depuis, et compte aujourd’hui un barrage de rétention, deux barrages avec trois centrales hydroélectriques, dont un de plus de 100 ans situé en plein centre-ville.

Services

Énergie Edmundston se retrouve aujourd’hui avec une capacité de 8,5 mégawatts, à laquelle s’ajoute l’énergie achetée d’Énergie Nouveau-Brunswick pour approvisionner sa clientèle. Pour des renseignements au sujet de la tarification et de la facturation (ainsi que pour connaitre les options de paiements), vous pouvez communiquer avec le service des Finances de la Ville d’Edmundston.

Sous la responsabilité d’Énergie NB, la location de chauffe-eau est toutefois facturée par le service d’Énergie d’Edmundston. De cette façon, chaque client ne reçoit qu’une seule facture pour l’achat d’électricité, la location de chauffe-eau, ainsi que pour les services d’eau et d’égouts. Dans le cadre de cette entente entre Énergie Edmundston et Énergie NB, l’entretien des chauffe-eau est effectué par des entrepreneurs d’Énergie NB. Pour plus de renseignements, vous pouvez communiquer au : 1-800-663-6272

Pour plus de renseignements au sujet de l’efficacité énergétique, vous pouvez communiquer avec le secteur d’environnement de la Ville d’Edmundston ou en cliquant sur le lien suivant: 

Pour signaler des urgences, un service à la clientèle est disponible en tout temps (24/7) en communiquant avec le service d’Énergie de la Ville d’Edmundston, au (506) 739-2106, et suivre le menu de service.

Pour plus d'information, rendez-vous sur la page Liens utiles et consultez la rubrique "Énergie".